back to the homepage   


 Czech Republic

Locality Central Europe
Area 78.86 km2 (30.442 miles2)
Population 10.3 millions
Capital Praha (Prague)
Language Czech
Religion Roman Catholic, Protestant, ...
Currency Czech crown (koruna česká) = 100 hallers (haléř)
Electricity 230 volts (two round-pin plugs)
Bank Opening Hours Mo.-Fri. 8AM - 5PM

Brief History
The area covered by the Czech republic (comprising the historic lands of Bohemia, Moravia and part of Silesia) was successively occupied by Celts, Teutons, and, in the 6th century AD, by Slav tribes, who formed the Great Moravian Empire. Under Charles IV, Praha (Prague) became the political and cultural center of the empire. In later years, the country was torn by political and religious strife; preacher Jan Hus was burned at the stake in 1415, while the Thirty Years' War was heralded in 1618, by tossing Catholic councilors out the window of Prague's Castle. After the battle of the Bílá Hora (White Mountain) in 1620 (protestants defeated), the Czechs were ruled from Vienna by the Hapsburgs.
1918 - the collapse of the Hapsburg Empire led to the creation of the new state of Czechoslovakia
1938 - the Munich Conference left the prosperous and politically stable country powerless in the face of Nazi Germany
1939 - the country was dismembered, with Bohemia and Moravia becoming a Nazi protectorate
1945 - U.S. troops liberated western Bohemia, and the Red Army freed the rest of the country
1948 - Communists seized power
1968 - "The Prague Summer 68" - an attempt of reformists to establish "Socialism with a human face," led by Alexander Dubcek, was crushed by Soviet-led troops
1989 - with the collapse of Communism throughout Eastern Europe, the Czechs brought about the Velvet Revolution. Playwright Václav Havel was elected president.
1992 - differences between Czechs and Slovaks on how to form a new democratic state led to an agreement separate.
1993 - the Czech Republic was proclaimed on Jan. 1, 1993